Cutlass Timing Gear project:

Search this Thread

Old April 15th, 2015, 06:13 AM

For my winter / spring project, I am going to attempt to replace timing gears and other aging stuff that I can easily access on my 71 Cutlass Supreme (350 4bbl).
The engine has never been opened and still has all of its original internal parts, including the nylon covered timing gear.

The good news in the engine only has 30k original miles.
The bad news is, I have never done this before.

This springs goals:
· Radiator(Install a new core in the existing radiator)
· Replace aluminum water pump with an Iron version
· Replace timing gears and chain
· Replace any easy to access, leaking gaskets
· Replace Power Steering lines
· Replace all hoses.

Radiator Story:
Its original, it’s old, its corroding and the engine runs hot over 210 when the AC is on. The clutch fan is also bad too, which will be replaced.

I found a local radiator shop in Lowell Ma. The building looked old and very rundown. Since the place looked a mess, I was hoping the guy had the Age and experience to do the work but was not sure.
The owner took one look at my radiator and said “Gee, that looks like a GM radiator from a Cutlass!” followed by “I use to have a 1970 Cutlass, etc.”

OK, I knew I was in the right place.
$600 later the radiator was completed in 24 hours. I kept the original Tanks and all of the ID tags and clips from the old radiator and just had the center copper core replaced with a 115 tube core vs. the sock 90 tube core.
The Lead solder alone cost $30.00.

Water Pump Story:

When I bought the car in 2011, I knew the factory original water pump was going to need to be replaced next spring. I had time to research replacement pumps.