General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Could you be using 'bad' oil?

Search this Thread

Old July 17th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Could you be using 'bad' oil?

Ok, got this tidbit from a guy at the car show yesterday. It is from NAPA and the vendor was on site trying to 'inform' and maybe drum up some business for those of us who have old cars.

So here's the pitch: If your car is older than 1996 (or doesn't have roller bearing lifters) the claim is that modern oil doesn't contain enough ZDDP to prevent wear on the bottom of flat bottom lifters. I'm not an expert on this so I am just going to paste the web link in for your review. http://www.camoils.com/about.html How would using something like slick 50 work to reduce friction if the oil needs an additive?

Has anyone got anything that supports or rejects this claim? I have Castrol 10W30 in my Cutlass and I planned to keep changing it out with Castrol or Pennzoil as needed. Is the claim about oil additives serious? I know that most of you with 1985 and newer engines already have roller bearing lifters so it's not an issue for you. My engine is still original though with 120344 original miles, and is not showing signs of quitting.
Old July 17th, 2011, 07:51 PM
Administrator

We've had this discussion thru various posts, and there are some oils specifically formulated with zddp. There also additives to add zddp to your oil. I will research this company thru NAPA.
Old July 17th, 2011, 08:43 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Oh no, not again...

- Eric

edit:

To clarify, the folllowing list goes back only a bit over a year - there's more to find if you like to dig...
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...reference.html
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...35220-oil.html
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-do-i-use.html
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...additives.html
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...23784-oil.html
https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...motor-oil.html