Quadrajet Float Level Adjustment

Search this Thread

Old April 24th, 2008, 10:41 AM

Quadrajet Float Level Adjustment

Hey guys, I decided to just make a new thread on this, because i couldnt find any info on it on the site, and I know other people will probably get some info on this, but The quadrajet I recieved from holley runs great, but the float is just a little too high, and sometimes when i put my foot in it, i lose all power. How do i adjust the float level, im new to the quadrajets still. Thanks : )
Old April 24th, 2008, 01:34 PM

Uh oh. After this you might pitch it into the weeds. My mom always said about how to make gumbo was "first, you make a roux". Right. Whatever that is, mom. Well, first you take the top of the carburetor off (air horn). That is an adventure all by itself but it's not all that bad once you get the hang of it. Then, while the float is installed, hold the end of the float against the needle down in the seat, hold the power valve retainer down and then bend the metal arms of the float up or down. There is a little upside down v-notch in the arms where it will bend. Sucks.