The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Q-JET

Search this Thread

Old July 29th, 2009, 01:11 PM

Q-JET

Not to long ago I picked up a '78 Omega, with a SB 307. I am pretty new to Olds engines, I have been told by a few people that it is running rich, how do I lean out the fuel mixture? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Newbie in MN
Old July 29th, 2009, 01:47 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by 78_OMEGA
Not to long ago I picked up a '78 Omega, with a SB 307. I am pretty new to Olds engines, I have been told by a few people that it is running rich, how do I lean out the fuel mixture? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Newbie in MN
First of all, are you sure this is a 307 Olds motor? The 307 Olds didn't exist in 1978. If someone did transplant an 80's vintage 307 with the computer-controlled carb and did not connect the computer, then it's no surprise that the car is running rich. Please verify what you have so we can give you the appropriate answers.
Old July 29th, 2009, 01:53 PM

I know it isn't the original engine, I think it it out of a mid 80's cutlass. The choke is not currently connected, and either is the kick-down cable. All I know about the engine for sure is that the base gasket for the carb, and the headder gaskets matched up with the ones from an '86 cutlass.
Old July 30th, 2009, 06:46 AM
Old(s) Fart

I know it isn't the original engine, I think it it out of a mid 80's cutlass. The choke is not currently connected, and either is the kick-down cable. All I know about the engine for sure is that the base gasket for the carb, and the headder gaskets matched up with the ones from an '86 cutlass.