Testing Electrical Outside the Car

Search this Thread

Old January 10th, 2008, 05:37 AM

Testing Electrical Outside the Car

Hey Olds folks!

I'm somewhat new to fiddling with car electricals. I've got a non-working clock (Tic-Toc-Tach) in a 1972 Cutlass S. I've also got a 'donor' clock from which I can steal pieces. My question: Is there a way to power the clock OUTSIDE of the vehicle for testing purposes using a battery and some wires? It would be much nicer to test on a 'bench' rather than in the car.

I'll probably end up ordering a quartz kit...but I thought I would play with this a little first.

Any suggestions would be beautiful.

Thanks!

Russ
Old January 10th, 2008, 05:55 AM

You can test the clock by attaching 12V to the terminal on the back of the clock. I suggest you get the clock repaired professionaly. I am sure it is difficult to rebuild.
Old January 10th, 2008, 09:30 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Olds64
You can test the clock by attaching 12V to the terminal on the back of the clock. I suggest you get the clock repaired professionaly. I am sure it is difficult to rebuild.
Ground wire to the case and +12V to the clock terminal. I would have the clock rebuilt with a quartz movement.
Old January 10th, 2008, 10:28 AM

Thanks guys!

I will probably order a quartz kit when I take the clock out this weekend. I half-ordered one before, but then the company that I was looking at ordering from said their kits only worked with Borg manufactured clocks, and would not work on General Instruments. Thinking my Tic-Toc-Tach might be General Instruments, I held off on the order. The company was Instrument Services (http://clocksandgauges.com), which was recommended on this board.

Olds64: I took the clock apart before. The gears seemed to be working fine. But, we'll see once I take a longer look at it.

Joe: Sorry for the dummy question, but do they sell smallish 12V batteries that I can easily hook a wire to?