POR 15 and other thoughts

Old May 11th, 2008, 03:48 PM

POR 15 and other thoughts

Gents

Starting to do a little work on my 70 Cutlass. Had it up on the rack today and really looked over the frame and underbody areas. The frame is real solid, but has a scale of typical surface rust all over it. Also, some seamed areas of the under body have some surface rust. I have no experience with POR15, is this the best product to use if I wire brush these areas and paint them over? I am not, and won't for a long time, doing a "frame off" even though that would be the best way to handle this. Just need to get somewhat of a handle on stopping the rust from getting much worse. Seems to me the last time I had my hand in an old car (late 80s/early 90s) there was a product that you sprayed on rust and it turned it black, meaning it was being neutralized? Is there such a thing?

Looking for recommendations-undercoating, paint, or POR15.

Also, how tough is POR15 to use? I haven't looked into it at all yet.

Thanks for any tips.
Old May 11th, 2008, 04:57 PM
Purveyor of Polyurethane

I don't have a lot of experience with POR15, but I don't believe it will convert the rust. Use a wire wheel, then a rust converter(the stuff you referred to that turns it black) & then paint it. The rust converter is basically a phosphoric acid solution that eats away at the oxidation. I've used all kinds & one of the most effective I've seen is actually available over the counter, I got some at auto zone. I believe its made by Kleen Strip.
Old May 12th, 2008, 05:32 AM

I have heard that POR15 IS the best to use. They have a good website at POR15.com. Some of their paint can be applied right over rust (after the loose stuff is removed).

They also have "chassiscote black" that can be applied that mimics the factory semigloss (but is too shiny IMHO.)