Valve stem seal question

Search this Thread

Old October 2nd, 2013, 03:25 PM

Valve stem seal question

My 403 has the occasional puff of smoke on startup so i want to replace the valve stem seams. I had the valve covers off and i could see the umbrella seals still in place on the intake valves but couldnt see anything on the exhaust valves. Are there supposed to be any seals on the exhaust side? I also noticed the i could pretty easily spin the pushrods on the valves that were closed and im wondering if thats normal of if they are too loose. Also, what is the torque spec on the rockers so i know what to retighten them too? Not sure if this makes a diff or not but the rockers are roller rockers. BTW the heads are 4A. I uploaded a pic, not sure if it is useful or not, the angle and lighting were bad. Sorry about all the questions, this is my first time doing this. Thanks in advance for any help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_0151.jpg (63.8 KB, 114 views)
Old October 2nd, 2013, 04:26 PM

Yes the pushrods should spin easily on valves that are closed. Most wear occurs on the rockers. If there is no tapping noise while the engine is running all is well. I am not sure about the 403 but earlier Olds engines had valve stem seals on all valve stems. Stock seals are referred to as umbrella type because they just act like a shield rather than a positive valve seal. I see your rockers are not stock. Stock Olds rockers are not adjustable. If the rockers are not tapping they are fine as far as adjustment. With hydraulic lifters you just need to tighten them so they are not making noise.

Last edited by Oldsmaniac; October 2nd, 2013 at 04:29 PM. Reason: More info
Old October 2nd, 2013, 04:33 PM
Administrator

But the problem is that when he goes to change the seals all that will need to be readjusted. You will need to follow the recommendations of the rocker arm manufacturer for the adjustments.
Old October 2nd, 2013, 05:42 PM
same but different