Such thing as too much camshaft?

Search this Thread

Old July 26th, 2022, 08:39 PM

Cool Such thing as too much camshaft?

There is indeed such thing as too much camshaft. While it is easy for me to say this, it is not within my scope of knowledge to know what exactly IS too much cam. So here's what I CAN tell you. I have a 1966 330, stock crank, street dominator intake, 10.5:1 pistons, will be getting a brawler 650 full mech carb, will be getting roller rockers and valve work to match new cam, and plan to port and polished heads. Speaking drivetrain, will be matching this motor to a 200r4, still deciding on what rear end and stall converter. Naturally, I am forgetting something. Regardless, my question is, I see how many cam options are out there, and my head starts to spin. I am new to engine building if that wasn't already apparent. So here goes. Hydraulic flat tappet. I present to you 3 random options on the comp cams list I am viewing.
a.(206/212)
b.(212/218)
c.(224/230)
(@0.050 inch lift)
I know roughly what all this means on paper but in practicality I am lost at sea.
Enlighten me my friends!
Old July 26th, 2022, 09:14 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

There are people on here that can probably give you some good advice. I am not one of them. Other things to consider are lift and lobe separation. Rear end and stall speed of the converter are things to consider.
Old July 26th, 2022, 09:17 PM

“10.5:1 pistons” may not translate to 10.5:1 compression ratio.

Multiple things go into the actual compression ratio.

Piston to deck clearance:
The distance from the top of the piston at TDC to the block surface where the head sits.
- Almost all replacement cast pistons are shorter than factory, some by as much as .020”.
- Most blocks have around .020” deck clearance from the factory.

Head combustion chamber volume:
- Chambers are typically larger than factory spec due to manufacturing tolerances.
- Valve jobs can increase the chamber volume.

Head gasket thickness: