car stalling when ac is on

Search this Thread

Old June 1st, 2012, 04:56 PM

car stalling when ac is on

Hey everyone, wish my first post was more exciting but it is what it is! I just bought a 86 cutlass supreme with a stock 307, car runs and drives great but the problem is when im using the ac if i come to a stop in gear the car will start to stumble (die) and shut off! I am new to having a carb always had fuel injected cars in the past! So please bear with me! A few things that may help are the voltage drops to around 10 when ac is on, im goin to get a cs-144 alt. Soon! And also alot of the emmission equipment was removed from the car before i got it, vacuum ball was removed also! I know this pic doesnt help, but it doesnt hurt! Thanks, Ron
2012-04-17_18-13-05_497.jpg
Old June 1st, 2012, 05:54 PM
XCELERATIONRULES!

Usually there is an electrical connection at the carb with a plunger.it raises the idle slightly when the A/C is switched on.
Probably the wire is disconnected or the plunger is adjusted incorrectly.
Old June 1st, 2012, 06:36 PM
Hangin' out...

Nice car! If that's a VIN Y 307, there is no electrical idle solenoid to boost the idle. It's vacuum and is called an Idle Load Compensator (ILC). It's likely either missing or not adjusted properly. It is a diaphragm that senses a drop in vacuum at idle (from the ac turning on or turning the steering wheel against a stop) and pushes out a plunger. It's long since discontinued. Take a picture of your engine, specifically near the carburetor and post it here.

This is what an ILC looks like:

http://forums.aaca.org/f177/85-84-83...le-281042.html
Old June 1st, 2012, 06:39 PM