1968 Oldsmobile cutlass S, hot start issues

Search this Thread

Old March 8th, 2021, 11:09 AM
Mitchm

1968 Oldsmobile cutlass S, hot start issues

I have a 1968 Olds Cutlass S, with Rocket 350. When cold, the car starts fine, after driving, I have to let the car cool down for it to start. The starter does engage but it cranks very slow and labored. There was an oil soaked heat shield on the starter ( Kevlar cloth ) that I removed when pulling and checking the starter. All cables are solid and clean. I have spoken to several mechanics who tell me that its " an Oldsmobile thing ". I have watched several youtube tutorials that point out several possible problems. I am not a mechanic but I can turn a wrench and have a general understanding of things. the one constant that keeps popping up is the fact that the starter is too close to the headers and the starter solenoid gets heat soaked causing the issue. I have purchases a high torque mini starter but have not installed yet.........Any direction would help.
Thank You
Old March 8th, 2021, 12:03 PM
Old(s) Fart