Site Suggestions Post your suggestions or ideas here on how we could improve ClassicOldsmobile.com.

if i could make a suggestion......

Search this Thread

Old May 23rd, 2010, 03:13 PM

if i could make a suggestion......

i was reading this thread in the "parts for sale" forum......

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-listings.html

i'm an admin. on another site. i don't know if this forum offers this feature, but we have our buy/sell/trade section setup with an auto-prunning system. after 90 days of a threads inactivity, it's automatically deleted from the forum. we could set it for less, but 90 days seems alright.
Old May 24th, 2010, 02:08 PM
Past Administrator

I'll check on that and see. Thanks for the help.
Old May 24th, 2010, 02:20 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by scr8p
i was reading this thread in the "parts for sale" forum......

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-listings.html

i'm an admin. on another site. i don't know if this forum offers this feature, but we have our buy/sell/trade section setup with an auto-prunning system. after 90 days of a threads inactivity, it's automatically deleted from the forum. we could set it for less, but 90 days seems alright.
I agree that it's a good way to cut down volume on a server, but it also deletes the option for contacting someone at a later date while browsing the history files. IMO deleting should only be done when practicable and necessary. There are tons of threads with great information that often go by the wayside of the time warp. I would suggest instead having the option of letting the poster use a check box that offers the option to "Close thread after 90 days of inactivity". A one time check box option. It then becomes the posters responsibility to let it die or Bump it as needed. A locked thread would not allow posts. But this also leaves the posters name and contact info available for pm or general inquiries at later dates from members. Anyway, that's my thoughts.