Fuel System Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old December 15th, 2015, 05:42 PM

Fuel System Upgrade

I am going to change out my fuel system in my 69 Cutlass over the holidays and this is my first time doing so. I am going from a mechanical system to an electric with all Aeromotive products. While I am at it I am replacing the tank, straps, hardware and sending unit with a RobbMc sending unit. The system will use -8 supply and return. I am looking for some help on best place to install the pump and best way to run the wiring to it. Pictures and tips greatly appreciated. When I'm finished I'll have a slightly used RobbMc 550HP mechanical pump and an Aeromotive deadhead regulator available if anyone is in the market for them.

Thanks,

Robert
Old December 16th, 2015, 01:59 AM

If you are still in the planning stage may I suggest another option. Check out the products from Tanks Inc. They have tanks with internal fuel pumps etc. that may give you some more choices.www.tanksinc.com
Old December 16th, 2015, 09:23 AM

The pump is supposed to be below the fuel inlet.
So yours will be close to the bottom of the tank as well but you'll be sucking it up and out of the tank correct?
I think you'll still need to mount it reasonably low.
Maybe along the frame rail?

Mine was easy with a sump added to the tank.
-Pete

Old December 16th, 2015, 10:45 AM

Areomotive makes a Stealth tank with the pump in it.
Love it
Running 650 hp @ 11.1 with it
All hiden
Old December 16th, 2015, 06:06 PM

Thanks for all the info. Unfortunately I already have everything for the project and quite honestly I'm too lazy to send it all back! Anyway, the picture helps and I think that the exact pump I bought PN 11203.
Old December 18th, 2015, 07:22 PM

Hope you don't mind hearing the pump 24/7. They're noisy, crappy pumps. Sorry but just my experience with them.
Old December 19th, 2015, 05:14 AM

Mark,