Other Oldsmobiles Anything not listed above, such as F-85 (1961-1963), Firenza (1982-1988), Starfire (1961-66 and 1975-80), Omega, etc.

Any trick to changing a fuel pump in a 394?

Search this Thread

Old October 4th, 2011, 01:50 AM

Any trick to changing a fuel pump in a 394?

I got a new rebuilt fuel pump for my 62 Starfire. I just wanted to ask if there is anything special I need to do before switching it out with my old one. I have never done anything like this before so I thought it would be best to ask. It is basically just unbolting the old one, taking it off, gluing new gasket to block, and putting on new pump?? I just don't want to risk messing anything up since I am quite new to all of this. It would be nice to get the car running again without a leaky fuel pump Any help would be great!!
Old October 4th, 2011, 04:04 AM
Oldsdruid

Other than the back bolt being aggravating to access, it's a pretty straightforward job. Just make sure the lever is under the fuel pump drive eccentric on the cam when you install the new one. I like a wobble extension to do the back bolt. Sears has 'em.

Best to loosen the fuel line to carb before you start unbolting it.

Is the new pump set up for modern crap gas? if it isn't you'll probably be doing the job again in a few hundred miles.
Old October 4th, 2011, 04:16 AM

Do I have to drain the oil or anything?? Wobble extension eh..I have heard that somewhere before. I haven't really looked too close at my existing fuel pump, other than a visual inspection and saw that it was leaking. I will have to take some reference pictures before I dive into it, and see if I have any of the proper tools anymore (inlaws kids kind of liked to borrow them, and they would never come back).