Non-Olds Engines For discussion on non-Oldsmobile engines. All forum rules apply.

Rocketman

Search this Thread

Old January 18th, 2023, 05:08 AM

Rocketman

Hello everyone. I am just starting an 5.3 ls swap into my 53 olds 88 holiday coupe. Original engine locked up couldn't get it free. Has anyone done a swap in a 53. Looking for any advice or suggestions. I am a newbie. But have a neighbor mechanic helping me. I was really torn about keeping original rocket 303. Cost for total re build including trans was too expensive. But I like the idea of having modern engine.reliabilty. and more horsepower. Locked up engine kinda made up my mind for me. I was able to get a ls3 5.4 and all acc. For free so that also helped my decision.
Old January 18th, 2023, 06:42 AM

Welcome. Sounds like a cool swap. There may have been somebody that swapped an LS engine into an early Oldsmobile. But you aren't going to find motor mounts, brackets, etc. for doing the install. Make sure you keep us posted and show us some pics, STAT!😳
Old January 18th, 2023, 09:41 AM
1975 98 Regency Sedan

Hey, welcome to the LS family. Your terminology has me a little confused with "ls3" - 5.3's came in a few different flavors, but the LS3 is an aluminum 6.2L. Arguably the most common 5.3 was the LM7, which is an iron block. There was also an L33 - aluminum block 5.3. Many others, feel free to read up on them here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genera...l-block_engine

The first thing I would do is make sure you have a 5.3 and not a 4.8. The blocks are identical, but pistons are different. Also, determine whether you have a Gen 3 or Gen 4 engine, which generally you can tell by looking at the timing cover.

Some obstacles you need to worry about: