The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Newbie here, Question on exhaust manifolds

Search this Thread

Old March 18th, 2010, 02:34 AM

Question Newbie here, Question on exhaust manifolds

Hi all! I'm new here. My current project is a 1978 chevy K10 stepside. It has a 455 oldsmobile under the hood. I have a question about exhaust manifolds. My engine came out of a 1973 olds delta 88. the one manifold has dual exits on it and I plugged one for my dual exhaust. No they have crack and I need to replace them....So can the X Z ones fit??? I know I can get repro ones from thornton I think it is and I would really rather not have to re-do my exhaust because the orrientation was off where the pipes hook up to the manifolds. So what do you guys think I should get? I already know I don't have room for headers. Thanks for your time guys. I appreciate any info and help I can get.
Old March 18th, 2010, 04:56 AM
Past Administrator

Welcome to CO. It would be hard to say since your engine is in an unfamiliar body but I would guess the WZ manifolds would fit as they are pretty tight to the engine. However, I don't know if they will mate to the existing downtubes you have now. Maybe Joe P can chime in here. I am going to move your thread to the new members section so people will welcome you and you might get a better answer than mine.
Old March 18th, 2010, 05:21 AM

Welcome to the site! I've got an Olds 350 in what was a diesel 1979 GMC 1/2 ton sort wide bed. I don't know for sure if they'll fit but it seems like there's a lot of room in that engine compartment. I would be optimistic that they would but hopefully someone who knows for sure will be able to comment. John
Old March 18th, 2010, 05:44 AM