Newbie here,...question on olds 303 to Chevy adapters

Search this Thread

Old July 5th, 2006, 06:35 AM

Question Newbie here,...question on olds 303 to Chevy adapters

hello. I'm new here but I'm building a traditional early 1950s Hot Rod and I'm using a 53 Olds 303 engine with Olds rear Diff.

My question was, does anyone know of an adapter or adapters being made to mate an Olds 303 V8 to a Muncie 4 speed trans? Something that won't break the piggy bank would be nice,...something used but not abused would be great!!

Thanks in advance for all the help!
Jason
Old July 8th, 2006, 06:15 PM

I don't have any information on the transmission adapter. JC Whitney used to be a good source for those, but they've dropped most of that type of equipment from their listings. Have you considered the 4 speed hydramatic that was available with your 303 ? That trans has really low first and seconds gears, and will probably outperform the 4 speed , at least until you hit third gear. The hydramatic would also be period correct for your rod !
Good luck !
Old July 8th, 2006, 07:52 PM

Well, to my knowledge it still has the (three speed??) Hydromatic with it,...(its still in the 53 olds,..but the car body is sold,...very rough!),....we're pulling the motor and trans out Monday.

I've heard that the Hydro is a heck of a trans,....so was a 4 speed the option over the 3 speed.....or am I just so new to the Olds world that i don't realize that what is already in there IS the 4 speed Hydro??

Thanks
Jason
Old July 10th, 2006, 07:40 AM