The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Cadillac in an Oldsmobile Forum?!?!

Search this Thread

Old June 26th, 2017, 02:59 PM

Cadillac in an Oldsmobile Forum?!?!

Howdy Folks,

My name is Joe and I have owned my Grandfathers 89 Cadillac Brougham for around 15 years now. I'm an engineer for Honda and work on the Civic and CR-V currently in dimensional assurance, essentially make sure the parts we get are vaguely similar to the drawings

I come you seeking guidance in the ways of the Oldsmobile Engine. I just picked up most of a 455 that I hope to put in the Caddy's 307 over the next... while... probably a while... but first I need to finish putting the 455 back together. First step is going to be getting the heads assembled, or buying a set of assembled heads depending on what I decide, so that will probably be my first real post here!

Looking forward to learning from you all!

Joe
Old June 26th, 2017, 03:09 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site. There have been a few Cadi's here, although I don't recall one with a transplanted 455. Post some pics.
Old June 26th, 2017, 03:21 PM

Here are the best pictures I have of it currently, little older, little more patina now but I love it: http://imgur.com/a/0Lmi2

I have a dream of having the 455 re-assembled by August and the swap by early September, we will see if that happens...

I'm digging the Cutlass!
Old June 26th, 2017, 03:51 PM
Old(s) Fart

You can certainly do this, but it's a little more work than the 350 Olds swap due to the deck height difference of the 455. Use the Caddy 307 engine mount brackets and frame mount clamshells - these bolt to the 455. Use the W/Z exhaust manifolds. Use the 307 water pump, pulleys, and accessory brackets, however you'll need to make minor mods to the brackets.

Old June 26th, 2017, 04:07 PM
Administrator

What are you going to use for a transmission?
Old June 26th, 2017, 04:45 PM