General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Engine knock

Search this Thread

Old April 16th, 2009, 02:26 PM

Engine knock

Hey guys just looking for some experienced imput. My 72 Cutlass has a 350 Rocket with a 4 bbl edelberock carb, It had a bad miss and i changed all the plugs wires and dist cap and rotor, that helped the miss but I now hear a slight knock while ildling and if you rev it up obviously the knock gets worse. Just wondering if I should pull the engine or is there something else i should check first? Hopefully this won't be an exspensive fix. Thanks again guys i'm new to all of this i have always had a newer car and I look to you guys and friends for advise but I want to learn.
Old April 17th, 2009, 03:26 AM

Smile Helloow

If the knock sounds like it is down deep in the engine it could be a rod, but if is a softer tick it might be a lifter...does it come from one side of the engine or the other...remove the rocker cover from the noisy side and push or pull on the rocker arm when it is idling and see if it is a lifter...if so then removal of the intake is required to change lifter...better to change all 16 at once or it could be a damaged rocker arm in which case change the damaged one, inspect the others and drive away
Old April 17th, 2009, 11:01 AM

Here's a neat little trick for ya. Take a long socket wrench extension, place one end against the oil pan and the other against your ear. Think stethascope, (think i wish i could spell!) You will be amazed at how usefull this can be. next try placing it on the valve cover roughly over each rocker assembly. If you have any internals making any noise, you'll find it ( as i guess you relize, the engine should be running for these tests ) By the way, You have checked your timming right? If its too advanced it can cause some serious knocking.
Old April 17th, 2009, 11:36 AM