General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Restoration?

Search this Thread

Old February 13th, 2014, 01:25 PM

Restoration?

Hey guys I am new to the Cutlass life style and was wondering if you guys could help me out with some of your own experiences.

I have a 1972 Oldsmobile Cutlass S that has been completely stripped, overhauled transmission and motor (not reassembled) and the paint is already stripped.

So how much should it cost to finish it off? the interior needs to be completely redone. I have all of the original items but they either need to be reupholstered (seats) or just completely replaced (door panels). I also will need a full paint job and a small amount of rust repair underneath a fender.

Thanks guys as a new user I appreciate this account and have already learned so much!
Old February 13th, 2014, 01:47 PM

my experience

If you don't have at least 10K don't bother starting.
Old February 13th, 2014, 01:49 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Tyler,
So you found out it was the Cutlass S. Good start.
I can appreciate your question but there are so many variables that make it hard to answer. Eg: are you doing the work yourself, is a shop doing it, what quality are you expecting, how much rust repair etc. It's really a question of how much you're willing to pay to do the project, or save money by learning to do some of it yourself.

There are plenty of replacement parts available now for 70's Cutlass and the $ for them is also increasing along with shipping costs.