General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Grandpas 68 cutlass supreme

Search this Thread

Old August 30th, 2024 | 05:12 PM

Grandpas 68 cutlass supreme

Hello everyone, this is my first time joining a forum. My names Tony, and this is my grandparents 1968 cutlass supreme.

My grandpa bought this car for my grandma right before they got married. The car doesn’t have a speedo or odometer, but in 1984 it had 200k miles on it. (Last written record)

The car has not been driven much in the time I’ve known it, but my grandpa recently passed it on to me, and I am going to do my best to give it new life. I have so many questions, as I’ve never worked on pushrod motors, or with carburetors. Also a long of vacuum lines and things have been disconnected or deleted, it seems.

The cutlass has a rocket 350 in it, with a 4bbl carb, and jetaway 2 speed transmission. I attached pictures for viewing pleasure
Old August 30th, 2024 | 05:25 PM

Welcome, You are at the right place. It looks nice, is it on the road?

Do you know if the engine is original? a 350 4bbl would be a high compression engine from the factory, because of that I'd use premium fuel only.
Old August 30th, 2024 | 05:41 PM

Originally Posted by Sugar Bear
Welcome, You are at the right place. It looks nice, is it on the road?

Do you know if the engine is original? a 350 4bbl would be a high compression engine from the factory, because of that I'd use premium fuel only.
Thank you, it’s not on the road right now, I drove it to baseball last night and it overheated as I pulled into the parking lot.

I believe it’s the original motor, still has gold paint on the pan, block, intake heads and oil fill. I’ve been chasing some problems with it blowing oil out of the valve covers, and the overheating issue is new.