General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

1968 Cutlass S purchase

Search this Thread

Old September 29th, 2011, 02:05 PM

1968 Cutlass S purchase

Greetings,
Looking at buying a semi local 68 Cutlass S Convertible. I'm new to this and had a few questions. The car I'm interested inhas 108K on the original motor, wondering the potential gotchas with regard to that, i.e. what warning signs should I be looking for when I do a pre-buy. Gonna have a mechanic look at it as I need the expert advice. Also, ballpark $ of how a rebuild of 350 Rocket would be if it came to that.
Advice/info/pointers greatly appreciated.
Old September 29th, 2011, 03:02 PM

Ive seen cars with 200k miles that run like tops. it really matters is if the car was maintained. How much are they asking for the car? If the price reflects that the car needs work than thats fine but if they are asking 10k+ then I would expect a pretty solid running and driving car.
Old September 29th, 2011, 03:13 PM

GD,
They are asking 11k. Most of the stuff I've been looking at is in the 15-20k range for a car in similar condition.
Old September 29th, 2011, 03:47 PM
Administrator

Imo, if you are not that mechanically oriented by one thats finished! It will cause a ton of grief and financial hardship if the car you buy needs alot of work! Take someone knowlegeable to look at with you!
Old September 29th, 2011, 04:09 PM

Originally Posted by nyfdx
Greetings,
Looking at buying a semi local 68 Cutlass S Convertible. I'm new to this and had a few questions. The car I'm interested inhas 108K on the original motor, wondering the potential gotchas with regard to that, i.e. what warning signs should I be looking for when I do a pre-buy. Gonna have a mechanic look at it as I need the expert advice. Also, ballpark $ of how a rebuild of 350 Rocket would be if it came to that.
Advice/info/pointers greatly appreciated.