67 Cutlass Convertible Impulse Purchase

Search this Thread

Old April 10th, 2007, 08:31 AM

Talking 67 Cutlass Convertible Impulse Purchase

Newbie Here.

I was driving near my home yesterday, and saw a 67 convertible with a for sale sign on it. Bought it on the spot. Explained it to the navigator later. Tough sell, but that baby's in the garage now. I'm so happy, I can hardly type.

Very little rust, mostly concentrated on the panels beneath the doors. Interior is in surprisingly good shape, although it needs door panels and arm rests, and someone put **** carpet in. The top is only a couple years old, and the hydraulics work like a champ.

Most everything appears original. 330 2bbl, don't know about the tranny yet. The guy insists that the 85K on the odometer is actual, although that seems hard to believe. It runs OK, but both exhaust manifold gaskets have let go, so it makes too much noise to tell for sure. Starter spins and only engages every 10th try or so.

I hope to replace the exhaust manifold gaskets and starter in the next month, so I'll have a cruiser for the summer. The manifolds (and bolts) are seriously rusty. Any advice?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
67CC.jpg (67.8 KB, 57 views)
Old April 10th, 2007, 10:09 AM
Past Administrator

The body looks like it is in good shape. Try some PB Blaster on the bolts, soak them, let them sit for a day, rinse and repeat for a week. Then try them.
Old April 10th, 2007, 12:52 PM
Freedom Fighter

Thumbs up

Very cool find. And the 'right' year.

Welcome to the exclusive Club of 'Olds'

FRDMFTR
aka dave maxwell
67' Delta 88 Convert
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Olds by the Lake.jpg (76.7 KB, 15 views)
Old April 10th, 2007, 01:00 PM

Only concern here is that the frame is not rotted.....also originally there were no exhaust manifold gaskets just a metal to metal seal at head surface. As time goes by metal pits and surfaces are no longer true so gaskets at head area are used.
Old April 10th, 2007, 01:32 PM