Gen Light | Alternator Smoke | Black Residue on Alt Bracket?

Search this Thread

Old June 8th, 2019, 10:03 AM

Cool Gen Light | Alternator Smoke | Black Residue on Alt Bracket?

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the Oldsmobile world. My dad recently purchased a 1960 Oldsmobile Super 88 with the rocket 394. I have to say I love the vehicle, but she's old and smoky so I've been trying to fix small things here and there to get her running smooth. I am relatively new to restoring vehicles, but I have been tinkering with my 68 F100 for about a year now so I'm getting better each day.

I recently took the car out for a drive at night and noticed that when I got to my destination the GEN light was lit up constantly when I turned my vehicle off. I have quite a bit of blow by and I saw small smoke fumes coming from my hood so I wasn't really alarmed, but I figured I'd take a look anyway. I popped the hood and saw that the alternator was smoking and it smelt quite bad. I also noticed some shiny black residue on the bracket near the belt (belt was fine). There was no residue anywhere else. No oil leaks nothing. I didn't want the battery to die with the light on so I took off my ground. As I put my ground back on it sparked against the terminal and it left quite a burn mark. I've seen small sparks and they are fine, but this seemed quite excessive. I started the car after about an hour, started without any issues drove her home and whenever I put my foot down on the accelerator the light faded on again. Got home light was on disconnected the battery and called it a night.

I am no sure what kind of alternator it is but it looks similar to those big powermaster powergen alternators (its black).

I'm quite new to all of this and still searching through the forum posts for alternator issues, but if anyone know what is going on here any info would greatly be appreciated! All I could find online was maybe something was shorting out.

Thanks in advance!

Raj
Old June 8th, 2019, 02:52 PM