Replacing Ignition Switch on a 68 Cutlass

Search this Thread

Old September 22nd, 2011, 04:51 PM
Runner

Replacing Ignition Switch on a 68 Cutlass

I'm having issues turning off my engine (I can take the key out and the engine still runs) and I want to go ahead and replace the ignition switch. I've never done this before so does anyone have steps to it? I tried googling and didn't come up with anything since most instructions dealt with ignitions on the column.

Any help? Also, this may be dumb, but what does IIRC stand for when it comes to this topic?

1kJ1R.jpg
Old September 22nd, 2011, 05:45 PM

Originally Posted by Joffroi
I'm having issues turning off my engine (I can take the key out and the engine still runs) and I want to go ahead and replace the ignition switch. I've never done this before so does anyone have steps to it? I tried googling and didn't come up with anything since most instructions dealt with ignitions on the column.

Any help? Also, this may be dumb, but what does IIRC stand for when it comes to this topic?

Stick the key in the ignition, stick a paperclip in that little hole to the right, and push the paper clip in and turn the key one click (can't remember if it's right or left). Pull the key and the cylinder will come out. Once the cylinder is out the retainer can be spun counterclockwise with a pair of open needle nose pliers stuck into two of those four little grooves and the ignition switch can be removed

I seem to remember IIRC meaning "In my recollection" but I don't know how it pertains to this.

Last edited by allyolds68; September 22nd, 2011 at 05:51 PM.
Old September 22nd, 2011, 05:55 PM
Runner

Hmm, I tried with a safety pin, but couldn't feel anything that actually pushed in (and the cylinder didn't come out). I'll see if I can find a paper clip and give it a shot. Thanks
Old September 22nd, 2011, 06:29 PM

IIRC = If I Recall Correctly

You may have to wiggle the key around a little bit. Paper clip FTW (For The Win).