olds rearend qustion

Search this Thread

Old January 3rd, 2009 | 06:33 PM

olds rearend qustion

Hello all i have a qustion im new to olds i love them but i was woundering when i did a burnout only 1 tire spins but if im at a dead stop and punch it both spin is there a easy way to get every day posi out of my rearend i belive it is a 10 or 12 bolt thanks for any help guys.
Old February 5th, 2009 | 09:10 AM

Rear end HELP.... !!!

Ok we you first need to start buy finding out how many bolts are on your cover to ID the rear diff your working on.

Next you need to figure out whether your car actually was optioned with a Posi (limited slip diff) or a standard non posi (open differential)...

If you have a posi and it is doing what your saying...working and not working then it needs to be rebuilt or replaced depending on how bad the damage.

If the rear is a open differential then you can use a Power trax / Lock right aftermarket unit to make your carrier act like a limited slip diff(LSD) posi.
or
You can buy a reconditioned posi for the rear or New posi ...that is all contingent on the differential that is in your Cutlas...Some rear diffs are NOT supported by aftermarket parts. Or are VERY expensive.

You can go to jdrace.com and check out the ID Differential section and check out the pictures to see if one of your diffs looks like one there and may be we can I D it that way. If you have pics you can post i can ID it for you also.

Jim

J D race.com
Old February 5th, 2009 | 12:19 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by monzaz
Ok we you first need to start buy finding out how many bolts are on your cover to ID the rear diff your working on.
No, we REALLY need to find out how many bolts are holding the ring gear. The correspondence between cover bolts and ring gear bolts only works for Chevy axles. The Type O has a 12 bolt cover and a 10 bolt ring gear.
Old February 7th, 2009 | 03:31 PM

picture will do it.