Power steering fluid overheating

Search this Thread

Old February 26th, 2012, 12:33 PM

Power steering fluid overheating

Lately, my power steering fluid has been heating up to the point where it will expand in volume enough to escape out the vent in the cap. What could be the cause of this? My thought is the power steering pump is dying and creating enough internal friction to kill the fluid. The fluid is not foamy or opaque, just much less viscous than it should be.
Old February 26th, 2012, 01:13 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by Jetstar 88
Lately, my power steering fluid has been heating up to the point where it will expand in volume enough to escape out the vent in the cap. What could be the cause of this? My thought is the power steering pump is dying and creating enough internal friction to kill the fluid. The fluid is not foamy or opaque, just much less viscous than it should be.
I'm not a mechanic to answer this, but I found a thread that is VERY similar to your concern on a Chevelle forum. Read it through and see if this has anything that you can work with
http://www.chevelles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255808
Old February 26th, 2012, 01:58 PM

Thanks for the link, it sounds very similar to my issues. I may try the filter/cooler route before tearing the pump apart and see if that fixes it.
On that note, are there any common OEM applications of PS fluid coolers, or is it all aftermarket?
Old February 26th, 2012, 04:59 PM

You can get any cheap fluid cooler and just adapt the fittings to work. Put it on the low pressure return side!!!
Look for a small transmission cooler. Power steering coolers are a little more exotic, so can be a bit more expensive for basically the same thing.
If you like the you-pull-it junk yards, just go shopping!

Note that it is pretty odd to have that kind of heat up, so something is probably wrong and may go ka-blooey sometime soon. Unless you're autocrossing.
Old February 28th, 2012, 01:51 PM
Just an Olds Guy