It started with a small noise....

Search this Thread

Old July 30th, 2011, 04:24 PM

It started with a small noise....

I have been working on my engine for a few months now, here is where it all started https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-my-455-a.html

Since then I have gotten all the parts required for a full rebuild, probably over kill. I have replaced pretty much everything except the crank, con rods, block and heads. Anything else is brand new stock replacement but the pistons, they are 30 thou over. Here are some pics of before and what I am currently up too, I should have done this ages ago but have been quite busy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
before small.jpg (137.7 KB, 77 views)
current small.jpg (127.9 KB, 75 views)
current small 1.jpg (132.7 KB, 81 views)
Old July 30th, 2011, 04:48 PM

One thing leads to another - i know it well. Mine started with an upper control arm squauk...
Looking good so far!
Old July 30th, 2011, 05:37 PM
Past Administrator

It is so true. I bet half of the projects mentioned on this site started with 'just something small' a weekend fix-it job.
Old July 31st, 2011, 09:47 AM
Old(s) Fart

Yet another case of the dreaded MIGHTASWELLS...
Old July 31st, 2011, 09:53 AM

In the mid 80s I bought a numbers matching '70 GTO Judge off the original owner. It was a solid used car so I drove it for a while until the left exhaust manifold gasket blew out. The Ram Air III manifold was difficult to remove without jacking the engine...7 years, 2 moves and 3 states later I finished the body-off-frame restoration that I never intended to do! I'm glad I did it but NEVER again!
Old July 31st, 2011, 09:54 AM

once you start down the road....................and then.............it never really ends
Old August 2nd, 2011, 08:24 AM
this is not my car lol

Originally Posted by citcapp
once you start down the road....................and then.............it never really ends

if i only knew then, what i know now.....