Intake Manifold Reinstallation

Search this Thread

Old July 28th, 2014, 09:43 AM

Intake Manifold Reinstallation

I am going to be re-installing an Edelbrock Performer intake manifold and I have a few questions. I am still new at this so bear with me.

1. I am going to install the exhaust crossover plugs. I will have to modify them to fit. Should I consider putting some sealant around them so they don't rattle?

2. The old intake gaskets didn't compress evenly. Is there a chance that gas could go under the intake manifold? Is there something I should be doing like running a bead of RTV sealer or something?

3. I do not have a metal valley pan. Should I purchase a stock one piece replacement or go for Mondell*'s VT-581 Valley Tray?
Old July 28th, 2014, 10:02 AM

1. I am going to install the exhaust crossover plugs. I will have to modify them to fit. Should I consider putting some sealant around them so they don't rattle?
============
What sealer holds up to exhaust temps?
What if you were to install the plugs - and drill a small hole on the divider line between plug and engine, and use a roll pin to secure the plug? Like a Dutch key.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Key_(engineering)

2. The old intake gaskets didn't compress evenly. Is there a chance that gas could go under the intake manifold? Is there something I should be doing like running a bead of RTV sealer or something?
==============
Intake runners contain vacuum. Stuff might leak IN.
Is something machined incorrectly- at the wrong angle? Chevy voodoo?
As long as the gasket seals it need not compress *evenly*
Never use RTV for a fuel passage sealant. Hi-Tack, Aviation 3H, Form-a-Gasket #2 are all good sealants. If by "the gaskets" you mean the END SEALS then sure leave out the rubber and just use a proper bead of RTV in place.

3. I do not have a metal valley pan. Should I purchase a stock one piece replacement or go for Mondell*'s VT-581 Valley Tray?
===============