Installing a 455ci into an '85 Cutlass Supreme

Search this Thread

Old January 23rd, 2012, 08:56 AM
Texas Jim

Installing a 455ci into an '85 Cutlass Supreme

I'm currently making plans to install my '71 455ci Olds engine into my girlfriend's very clean '85 Cutlass Supreme. Obviously a joint venture. LOL! Just inquiring if anyone has done this swap, as I'm wondering what kind of room I'll have in the engine compartment. I will be using headers (w/ full 2 1/2" exhaust and Flowmaster mufflers), a modified 2004R transmission, and also keeping the factory air conditioning. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, Sincerely...
Old January 23rd, 2012, 09:19 AM
delete

A lot of G-Body guys post on Oldspower.com. It s a pretty common swap but i have no 1st hand experience with it.
Old January 23rd, 2012, 11:24 AM

If the car came with a 307 it's a snap, but from what I understand there are some things you will have to do to make the A/C function. For some damn reason GM decided to have the A/C work through the computer and if you disconnect it it won't work. There is a way around it I believe so don't fret too much.
Old January 23rd, 2012, 04:15 PM

If you use anything but the stock or performer intake you might have hood clearence issues. The other problem is headers. Hooker sells a two pcs set for around $500 or Dick Millers for around $800. Having the same problem, droping in a 69 455 in my 79 olds.
Old January 23rd, 2012, 08:47 PM