Fuel pump?

Search this Thread

Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:17 PM

Fuel pump?

'71 455 w/ E heads and performance cam, runs great. However when I start it after sitting for a night and pump the gas liberally a couple of times it then stalls. Not sure why cause if I don't do that and go right into gear, its fine. Could it be a tricky fuel pump perhaps?

I'm not an expert so wanted to see if its something that can be diagnosed and a minor fix done so I can feel comfortable when revving it so it won't stall?

Thanks,
Bill
Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:26 PM

Are you revving it before it warms up? What kind of carburetor do you have?
Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:51 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

So first you depress the gas pedal to set the choke, then you start it, then you "depress the gas liberally," which to me means you floor it?

Why?

You never rev or accelerate quickly with a cold engine. It's not good for it.
Also, it won't run smoothly or allow the secondaries to open until its had at least a few minutes to warm up.

Please give us more details.

- Eric
Old October 8th, 2012, 01:51 PM

Originally Posted by ah64pilot
Are you revving it before it warms up? What kind of carburetor do you have?
I suppose I am. But its different than my other Cutlass engines in that when it starts it revs/idles high and then normalizes after a few min but sounds like it could stall easily. My carb is a Quadrajet 4bbl.

Originally Posted by MDchanic
So first you depress the gas pedal to set the choke, then you start it, then you "depress the gas liberally," which to me means you floor it?

Why?

You never rev or accelerate quickly with a cold engine. It's not good for it.
Also, it won't run smoothly or allow the secondaries to open until its had at least a few minutes to warm up.

Please give us more details.

- Eric