Camshaft Change?

Search this Thread

Old October 25th, 2019, 03:48 PM

Camshaft Change?

Hi, we are building a 1972 455 Olds that is getting freshened up for my 1979 Trans Am. I am new to Oldsmobile engines, as I have always ran Pontiac stuff, so I'm still learning Oldsmobile. It is a 1972 455 block, it has 67-69 "C" heads on it, and after cleaning them up, it appears that have been "pocket ported". I also found ".020" stamped in the decks, so I would almost bet they have been milled .020" as well. They have ARP Rockers Studs and guide plates. The Pistons are SpeedPro L2323 dished forged piston, 18cc dish. The current camshaft, that was in the engine already when I obtained it, is a hyd flat tappet JM 25-28, 280/292 Advertised duration, 236/248 duration@.050, .523"/.544" lift, 108* Lobe Seperation, not sure what the Intake Centerline is suppose to be. It looks like a pretty hefty sized camshaft for a street engine to me. It has Comp Cams 1.6 roller tipped rockers and Poly Locks. I will use Corteco .028" head gaskets. Compression falls around 9.5 or 9.6-1 for this combination. Intake is a Edelbrock Performer with a 750 Holley. Ignition is all Flame Thrower. So, being familiar with Pontiacs, most people have found that it is better to stay away from the "narrow" lobe seperation, "fast ramp", short seat duration camshafts, like the one that is currently in this engine, for their Street engines. Some known pontiac engine builders have found that the pontiac engine seems to favor, longer seat duration camshafts, with a slower ramp, and prefer a wider lobe seperation, such as 112° or 114°. I would assume, since the Olds engine is a long stroke engine as well, the same would apply. So my question is, should I change out the camshaft to something better while I have it apart, to better suit my intended usage? I've did a little research, and it seems the Erson 545321(JB100) gets recommended alot, as does the same camshaft, but on a 110° lobe seperation, refered to as the "T