belt vs eletric waterpump

Search this Thread

Old May 23rd, 2016, 06:15 PM

belt vs eletric waterpump

Looks like I'm in need of a waterpump mine is leeking quite a bit what do you guys have to say about belt vs eletric? Also need a power steering pump but thats for another thread
Old May 23rd, 2016, 10:57 PM

If it is a street driven car, get a replacement belt driven water pump. Electric pumps are best suited for the drag strip.
Old May 24th, 2016, 05:08 AM

Electric pumps are best suited for the drag strip.
x2

Get yourself a new or rebuilt water pump from the auto parts store.
Old May 24th, 2016, 04:14 PM

Electric* why do you guys say that? most of them now are rated for street also more and more Manufacturers are switching over to me it makes sense but I'm a noob, would you guys please explain a bit? Sorry if I'm asking to much
Old May 25th, 2016, 05:46 AM

You could always put an electric water pump on your car. It will be more expensive than a stock water pump though. Plus, if you buy a water pump from an auto parts store it will almost certainly have a warranty on it.
Old May 25th, 2016, 06:09 AM
Administrator

There is nothing wrong with an electric water pump. Do what you feel comfortable with. You will also need an electric cooling fan.
Old May 25th, 2016, 07:29 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

You are looking to install an electric water pump, power steering pump, and, therefore, and electric cooling fan.

How much does your alternator put out? Or are you planning on installing another two alternators where the water pump and the power steering pump used to be?

- Eric
Old May 25th, 2016, 12:54 PM

I'm not too worried about the draw on the alternator where as they do sell high output ones if need be and quite a few modern cars have those plus nav and stereo and ecus ect. And still work well supplying enough current
Old May 25th, 2016, 01:16 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by SeanMiller063
I'm not too worried about the draw on the alternator...
Okay.