align hone question

Search this Thread

Old December 17th, 2012, 02:33 PM

align hone question

Can a align hone be done as the last machine operation? The cylinders were already bored and honed and the decks just had a cleanup for the gasket to properly seal? I upgraded to ARP rod bolts. I can buy a quality bore gage and straight edge to check myself but it seems a align hone would be cheaper than the tools if the gage is accurate to .0001.
Any help is appreciated it's my first build
Old December 17th, 2012, 04:48 PM

Just setting a straight edge wont tell you if you are ok, the caps have to be installed and the alignment checked for each cap diameter and if they are in true alignment. If you have had every thing else done and you have a good machine shop they can align hone your block without much problem. I just had mine done today and they charged me 150.00 and its straight, they also installed the mains and miked them and clearanced the main bearings.
Old December 17th, 2012, 05:09 PM

Originally Posted by 442rocketdave
Just setting a straight edge wont tell you if you are ok, the caps have to be installed and the alignment checked for each cap diameter and if they are in true alignment. If you have had every thing else done and you have a good machine shop they can align hone your block without much problem. I just had mine done today and they charged me 150.00 and its straight, they also installed the mains and miked them and clearanced the main bearings.
Explain if you would please.

Ideally the algin hone should be done first, everything goes from that dimension and location, but yes it can be done afterwards.
Old December 17th, 2012, 05:42 PM