Vintage Oldsmobiles Curved Dash, Limited Touring, Models 40, 53, 66; Series 60, 70, 90

1955 Olds bench seat lower plastic

Search this Thread

Old March 1st, 2017, 01:34 PM

1955 Olds bench seat lower plastic

Has anyone reproduced the bench seat lower plastic pieces for the 55 or 56 Olds. Most used ones that I have seen are in pretty bad shape. I guess people are trying to piece them togother.
Old March 1st, 2017, 02:48 PM

Lower plastic pieces.

Doubt that anyone reproducing them. I might have one side(not sure which). Not sure how they would endure shipping tho. They're pretty fragile.
Old March 1st, 2017, 03:47 PM

I have seen them with a vinyl covering, covers up cracks and looked good. The missing chips and pieces were patched from the back side with fiberglass. If you have all or most of the pieces this could be option....Tedd
Old March 1st, 2017, 07:58 PM

http://www.justdashes.com/2013/07/19...t-restoration/

Just Dashes restores them. As yet I have no experience with the process, but we have a set for our '56 that will need some help eventually.
Old March 1st, 2017, 08:32 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

Tedd that is a great idea. Mine are pieced together and painted. I may give that a try.
Old March 2nd, 2017, 07:37 AM

Has anyone had Just Dashes restore their skirts and were satisfied with the workmanship?
Old March 2nd, 2017, 09:01 AM

They do great work but are VERY expensive on what ever they work on. Out of my league .... Tedd
Old March 2nd, 2017, 02:55 PM

They are just over the hill from me so I will take them and get an idea of cost.
Old March 2nd, 2017, 04:27 PM
Frank Ignachuck

[QUOTE=lonestarjarhead;995481]Doubt that anyone reproducing them. I might have one side(not sure which). Not sure how they would endure shipping tho. They're pretty fragile.[/QUOTE
Easy to tell which side is which: The left side has a slot for the seat adjust lever and the right side has two small holes for the Fisher Body emblem.
Old March 2nd, 2017, 04:45 PM