55 Olds Hydramatic transmission - Newbie

Search this Thread

Old August 31st, 2006, 06:28 PM

55 Olds Hydramatic transmission - Newbie

Hi, I'm a newbie here, so any help would be most appreciated. I recently bought a 55 Olds Holiday with (I think) a 3-speed Hydramatic transmission. Car runs like a top, and the transmission shifts fine, but when I start the car and try to put it in gear (D,R, whatever, the indicator (I guess thats what you call it jumps around and I sometimes have to play with it to get it in D instead of S or Lo - it often pops into Lo at first). Once its in D and I'm moving, it shifts just fine. Any suggestions on what the problem is and what I can do? Thanks from a new "cool car" guy.
Old September 1st, 2006, 04:44 AM
Past Administrator

First, welcome to our site. Second, I have no experience with your tranny specifically but I would think that probably the detent mechanism that keeps the shifter indicator in position is the culprit. My experience with other atutomatic transmissions is that mechanism is actually in the transmission and not in the steering column. You might check all the linkage from the steering column, down the front of the firewall to the transmission, you may have some unusual loosness or play in one of the joint. Just an idea, hope you get it fixed.
Old September 1st, 2006, 08:03 AM