Engine swap - now won't move

Search this Thread

Old November 30th, 2019, 04:17 PM

Engine swap - now won't move

Newbie here. And full disclosure, the car is not 100% Oldsmobile. I have an 85 Buick LeSabre that I have swapped and Olds 350 into.

The engine runs great but the car does not move or show any signs of wanting to move in any gear. Park engages so I am assuming it is not the linkage, but in gear with the engine running it is as if the car is neutral. Engine just revs and does nothing.

We kept the original 200-4r transmission and swapped over the torque converter. The transmission was working fine when the engine was pulled. It has been sitting for about 6 months.

Hoping this is something stupid/simple? Ideas?
Old November 30th, 2019, 04:22 PM

What converter did you use?
Old November 30th, 2019, 04:30 PM

Spoiler

check the fluid level, also if you didn’t fill the converter before installing that may be why it won’t engage
Old November 30th, 2019, 04:46 PM

I don't know what torque converter it is - whatever was stock on the 85 LeSabre with a 307 Olds.

I do not think we filled the converter before installing, so that could be it. Do we need to drop trans again to do this, or will it pick up fluid from the rest of the tranny if we keep filling? (sorry if this dumb question)
Old November 30th, 2019, 04:58 PM

you wont need to drop the trans, the converter will fill as long as there is fluid in the pan. Put fluid in and keep checking the level, you don't want to overfill the transmission
Old November 30th, 2019, 05:44 PM

Was the converter fully seated before you installed the engine?
Old November 30th, 2019, 06:09 PM

Did the engine and transmission bellhousing mate flush together on their own or did you have to use bolts to pull them together? Are the converter to flex plate bolts installed? Did the converter have to be pulled toward the flex plate about 1/4" to start the bolts?