Did I screw up my TH350?

Search this Thread

Old November 19th, 2008, 09:36 AM

Question Did I screw up my TH350?

I admit it...I'm a novice...

I had my TH350 rebuilt and when I was bolting the bell housing to the engine I heard a pop...

Here's what I did and you can tell me if I'm screwed.

1.) I bolted the flexplate onto the engine first
2.) Put a quart of fluid inside of the torque converter
3.) slid the converter onto the shaft then spun it till slowly it slid down a second time and was about a fingers width away from the bell housing
4.) Lined up the bellhousing and the converter bolt holes with the flexplate holes
5.) started threading the converter bolts with the flexplate by hand, but left them pretty loose to manuever

There was about a 1/4" gap between the bellhousing and the engine after starting the bolts, but when I went to tighten the bellhousing bolts down I heard a deep "pop" noise. Did I screw something up or could it have been the front of the converter mating with the crank shaft?

Please tell me I didn't kill the trans...

I took everything back off out of sheer panic and spun the converter again and it seemed to spin smoothly like before.

Did I destroy it? If I start it up and had done something what risk do I have?
Old November 19th, 2008, 01:54 PM
scubastever

if anything did happen, you'd probably see a split or crack along the locating dowl pins of the transmission bell housing.

the only other possibility is destroying the torque convertor bushing or seal- but it sounds like you took great care in pre assembly, so i doubt it.

Old November 19th, 2008, 03:25 PM
Registered

Chill dude.

Sounds like you did everything right to me too.
Mine did that when I was tightening it, it was just binding and it popped when it freed up when the bolts were tightened, that deep hollow sound. Possibly the converter sliding back on the shaft and clunking, doesn't touch the crank as far as I know.