stripped thread remedy opinions

Search this Thread

Old June 11th, 2012, 08:14 AM
72 Olds CS

stripped thread remedy opinions

I stripped the threads where the front sway bar bolts into the frame, the threads on the frame part stripped not the bolt. . It does not appear to be a captive nut or anything like that in the frame it seems like it just threads into the frame metal

The current threaded bolt is a 3/8-13 (im no fastener expert so please correct any of mistakes).

I plan to retap the hole to a 7/16-20 fine thread fastener to replace it. is that a good idea or should I stick to a 7/16-13 (coarse thread) or is a heli coil better in this case.

it appears access to the inside of the frame is very limited

TIA for any opinions on this
Old June 11th, 2012, 08:48 AM

Try the fine thread first it will hold better than the corse. If that doesn't work you will need to drill the hole out slighty to use the heli coil. The advantage with the heli coil you can use the factory bolt size and type. If your not concerned with origanalality the tap should be fine.
Old June 11th, 2012, 09:21 AM

I drilled them out and got a bolt in there with a lock washer on it so it wouldn't spin when I put the nut on.

yeah, it sucked getting those bolts through the holes. I did it so long ago i don't even remember how...., seems to me I wrapped the bolt with tie wire and fished it around until it popped through the hole. I didn't have the engine installed yet though so access was pretty good

Last edited by allyolds68; June 11th, 2012 at 09:24 AM.
Old June 11th, 2012, 09:38 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by allyolds68
seems to me I wrapped the bolt with tie wire and fished it around until it popped through the hole.