strange ignition problem after carb rebuilt. please help!

Search this Thread

Old December 18th, 2010, 05:06 PM

strange ignition problem after carb rebuilt. please help!

Hello!

I'm an exchange student from Germany living in Oregon (so please excuse my bad English) and I bought a 1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 with the 307 Cody Y Engine.

I always had a Code 21 Error so I replaced the bad TPS-Sensor two days ago. I installed a new airhorn gasket and a new one between the carb and the manifold. I also replaced the fuel filter.

First it took me 20 minutes till the car ran smooth at curb idle. I had to keep it over 2000RPM otherwise it wouldn't have been running.

Today it was much better but now the car won't start randomly. Sometimes it starts immediately, sometimes after a 10min. brake there is no spark. If I spray some "easy start spray" on the air filter and crank a while (suddenly I can see flashes on my timing light) it will start.

I haven't found a orderliness for that symptom and it only occured after I had the carb off.

When I spray some brake cleaner around the carb. and the vacuum hoses the idle won't change, so it doesn't look like a vacuum leak.

Do you have any suggestions where I can start looking for this crazy issue?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards, Andreas

Last edited by kandelino; December 19th, 2010 at 08:51 AM.
Old December 19th, 2010, 08:40 AM

Welcome!
I do not see a reason why a carb rework woul dhave brought on random ignition problems. Only thing I can think of is getting some electrical connector on the distributor loosened.

The pink wire to the disty should be 12V when key is in run. Check to see if you have that when you go into a no-spark condition.
Also, the black/orange should be 0V (ground)
If those are right, then pop the cap off (note all wire positions first!) and check for damage or excess corrosion.