quadrajet Secondaries opening.

Search this Thread

Old August 15th, 2015, 11:35 PM

quadrajet Secondaries opening.

72' 350 with a 4bbl quadrajet. Just had the carb adjusted. Shouldn't the secondaries open when revving the engine to WOT? Or does it take the dash pot a little longer to push them open then a quick rev to WOT?
Old August 16th, 2015, 03:22 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

When you say "secondaries," are you referring to the secondary throttle butterflies or to the secondary air valve?

- Eric
Old August 16th, 2015, 08:03 AM

yes that is what I mean. After I had carb rebuilt the mechanic made some adjustments and when he revved it to WOT you could see them starting to open. They opened pretty quickly. Since then I started studying the chassis manual and adjusted the mixture screws myself. I took it to a second mechanic (recommended) who was supposed to be good with quadrajets to see how well my adjustments were. Besides being rich he mentioned some of the linkage was not set up right to open the secondaries. He tinkered with it but I really couldn't see what he was doing. When I got it home I was running some test on the voltage regulator and started rev the engine to WOT and noticed the 2nd air valves aren't opening like they did before. I can manually pull on the dashpot linkage to open so doesn't seem like anything is binding. But revving the engine with the throttle and watching the dash pot it seems slow to start pushing it open. Perhaps I'm not revving long enough? Makes me nervous pushing the throttle back to WOT w/o having the engine under load more than a quick flip.

Last edited by davoaz; August 16th, 2015 at 08:06 AM.
Old August 16th, 2015, 08:11 AM
Administrator

You generally will not see the secondary air valve open the butterfly just reving it on the driveway. The engine needs to be under load.
Old August 16th, 2015, 08:15 AM
Out of Line, Everytime😉