Pertronix Ignition System

Search this Thread

Old June 6th, 2015, 09:40 PM

Pertronix Ignition System

I have installed a Pertronix Ignitor and coil in my '68 Olds 350. Car ran great and I put 100 miles on it to and from a car show. Drove it into the garage and now the car won't run. It fires, put will not continue to run. I replaced the fuel pump and I replaced the Q-jet with an Edelbrock - no help. It has new wires and plugs. Someone told me temperature fluctuations could loosen the screws holding down the electromagnetic ring and cause excessive air gap. I've been running this same ignition in my truck for several years without incident. Anyone have any experience with the Pertonix Ignitor or coil that you may have experienced these symptoms? Or other ideas? Thanks.
Old June 6th, 2015, 10:02 PM
Rocketeer

I don't have any bright ideas other than the obvious recommendations, like verify that you're getting spark like you're supposed to. If not, then check voltages on the ignition system and disassemble the distributor and check to assure that the gap is still what it's supposed to be.

If your car is firing, but not continuing to run, that makes me wonder whether you've got good wiring and voltage in the crank circuit, but not in the run circuit. I'm not familiar with the voltage differential on the primary side of the ignition system for a 1968, but I know that for my 1962 it gets about 12V during cranking and 6V during running.