Open Element Air Breather vs. Snorkel

Search this Thread

Old May 20th, 2013, 05:49 PM

Open Element Air Breather vs. Snorkel

Hey Guys,

You guys have become my go to source for any and all questions pertaining to my Cutlass.

When I first started working on the car, the snorkel air breather just didn't sit well with me although it had a very classic stock look. My question is I switched to an open element Edelbrock air filter and removed the old PCV grommet and the crankcase grommet on the other side which all attached to the snorkel. I've replaced it with a standard PCV grommet and a K&N breather in the opposite valve cover.

Anyone aware of any 'issues' with this type of change? It was done more for aesthetic rather than any performance but I want to make sure that this setup is suitable for the car. I've included a pic of what it looks like now....pardon the appearance, it's a work in progress in the beginning stages and I'm a novice hobby mechanic at best but I'm learning piece by piece.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_1126.jpg (75.8 KB, 81 views)
Old May 20th, 2013, 06:07 PM

There is no problem with that. Most people not running a stock style aircleaner are using the same setup.
Old May 20th, 2013, 06:24 PM

The only problem you caused was that you opened up a HUGE can of worms - that shiny new lid emphasizes what else needs some spit shine and paint!
Just take a look at my underhood resto thread and see how easy that is to remedy though...
Old May 20th, 2013, 06:40 PM
Administrator

Yup, MAW just start cleaning and painting under there. No issues with your setup as far as function.
Old May 20th, 2013, 06:44 PM

Originally Posted by Lady72nRob71
The only problem you caused was that you opened up a HUGE can of worms - that shiny new lid emphasizes what else needs some spit shine and paint!
Just take a look at my underhood resto thread and see how easy that is to remedy though...
Hey Rob,