Learning the hard way

Search this Thread

Old June 26th, 2013, 05:56 AM

Learning the hard way

A recent thread about a build gone bad had me thinking of mistakes I've made along the way and what I learned from them. Let me preface this by saying that I am still learning a lot about cars but I am particularly learning a lot from this site about Oldsmobile in general. This being said I am not a novice mechanic. I started under a shade tree and graduated to a service station. From there I went through various technical schools in the USAF in becoming a heavy equipment mechanic. I worked for several years at a Dodge dealer and went through several factory schools. I learned a lot along the way but the things that have stuck with me most are things I learned the hard way. I thought I would start a thread that we could share lessons learned. Who knows it may prevent someone else from making a similar mistake. I have a lot of these stories but here is the first.
My first real car was a 64 Plymouth Belvedere with a Poly 318 engine. The distributor is in the back of the engine and against the firewall. My first attempt at a tune up I dropped the point screw down the distributor. No problem I went to the junk drawer and found a self taping screw of some kind and set the points. Heck with that screw I dropped. Everything was good for about 3 miles until the screw found its way to the gears and sheared the distributor shaft. Call the wrecker/Lesson learned!
Old June 26th, 2013, 06:16 AM

lessons

i know a guy back in my school days, also doing a tune up. he had the air cleaner off to access the distributor easier, he dropped a screw in the carb. he said no big deal, it's small enough, it won't hurt anything. he put the car all back togather, it ran great at first. he took it down the road,and brought back a few minutes later, backfiring and missing like crazy. that little screw cost him thousands of dallars.broke a piston top, bent a valve, and ruined the head.