General Questions Place to post your questions that don't fit into one of the specific forums below.

Learning to use an inside mic

Search this Thread

Old April 1st, 2011, 08:50 PM

Learning to use an inside mic

My crankshaft is at the machinist's getting polished, and when it comes back and it's time to start assembling the engine, I'd like to ensure I've got the proper bearing clearances. I want to learn how to properly measure bearing clearances (and bore diameters) with an inside micrometer. I'm a complete newb when it comes to this, but I'm willing to take the time to learn.

1) Considering the micrometer used to measure these clearances is probably only going to be used a couple times at most, I can't justify spending the $$$ on a professional setup, so I'd like to limit the expense to $175-$200 if possible. What brands/models can I look for that would be accurate and not break the budget?

2) How would you feel about taking a chance on a previously-used mic set from E-bay? As I understand it, most can be recalibrated (if necessary) with a good outside mic.
Old April 2nd, 2011, 09:31 AM
Lance

Keith, I calibrate these measuring devices for a living, so I may be able to give you some good advise.

First, I would buy a dial bore gage rather than a I.D. mic. IMHO, a dial bore gage is way more forgiving and you can check many more areas of the bore more quickly. The draw back with a dial bore gage is you will need some type of length standard to set up the dial bore gage (i.e. master ring or O.D. mic.)

Second, I like Mitutoyo brand, as parts are easy to get and the gages seem to hold up well. Alot of people will state to buy Starrett which is a very good USA brand, but is very costly, parts are sometimes hard to get, and they seem to rust alot.

IMHO, I would stay away from the non-brand name gages sold in speed shop catalogs, due too not being able to get missing or broken replacement parts.