GP Sorensen Carb Rebuild kit Questions

Search this Thread

Old November 30th, 2012, 11:37 AM

GP Sorensen Carb Rebuild kit Questions

Just picked up my Carb rebuild kit from The Zone. Does anyone have a review for this kit? Or any tips for me on my rebuild? I've never done a carb rebuild before but I'd say I'm fairly mechanically inclined.

Let me know! Thanks

-R.J.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Carb rebuild kit.jpg (45.5 KB, 26 views)
Old December 2nd, 2012, 04:21 PM

GP Sorensen is (or was) a division of Standard Motor Products. Standard makes the 'Jiffy Kits' which seem to work well, I have not had any problems using them as long as the ethanol mix in fuels is not much over the 10% mark. After this, one may get some swelling of the accelerator pump piston. Note some kits use leather pistons. Also note there has been much consolidation of the kits over the years, so you get quite a few gaskets in the kits, be very careful to match your old gaskets exactly with new ones in the kit. The extra gaskets are nice to keep, you never know when somebody else may need one too. The instructions are just OK, they do have float level specs in most kits, but the shop manual may be nice to have if you are not too familiar with the carburetor you are working on. Regards, Howie.
Old December 3rd, 2012, 12:39 PM

IMO, the parts store kits are all basically the same and get the job done.
When you're used to the carb and want to start tweaking things, then look at quadrajetparts.com and Ruggle's website (www.cliffshighperformance.com)
Old December 3rd, 2012, 02:53 PM

Thanks guys! May end up trying to get this done soon here, I'll take plenty of pics! Never done it before so it may take a while
Old December 3rd, 2012, 02:59 PM
Just the facts...

since you're going in, you'll want to get a new float too. i assume your float is the nitrophyll type.

these days, all the parts in those kits are made by one company. leather pump seals are generally for carbs. like the 4G-series.

bill