84 307 emissions

Search this Thread

Old December 3rd, 2012, 02:05 PM
Z88

84 307 emissions

Hello everyone, I have a problem with my embarrassing, but young, olds 307. Off my beloved 1984 Delta 88 Royale Brougham.

This car only has a young 140 thousand miles on it, but seems to have a grand host of issues with it. The first emissions are a double edge sword to me. While, I don't get tested I get to spread whatever fumes I want. But the other, I enjoy gas economy. So the emissions systems that i Have found to met their bitter end is the ;
EFE TVS. No problem deleting that nasty off my intake. So done and set, but what type of problems will I face for removing this little piece of earth saving device? Would my HP go up? Will I stall out on a cold engine all the time?

The vapor canister. Well, it turns out my canister doesnt look so good. The filter is all clotted up, as if the previous owner wasn't aware that should be cleaned once in a while. And, now if the canister is tipped onto the side or over, ooh carbon pellets! I assume thats no good right?
Now what stumbles pretty hard on me, is that none of my local guys seem to have these things in stock! Even one guy told me to "delete" the system. Now, fuel vapor to me is a pretty serious thing. I don't want unstable vapor causing a surprise fire for me.

Is the carbon pellets falling out when tipped over normal? Can I still have this relic Rochester part? If not, I don't feel like blowing $70 out on emissions. Can i find a car at a junk lot that has a better can and is still compatible? What should i test for??

Now the last piece seems to be the intake wasn't done well. Probably due to my previous mechanic not knowing what a v8 looks like, or how these turkey tray gaskets fit in. Hey neither do i!

Onto intakes, do you need to put any RTV around the coolant ports, exhaust, or intake ports? Is this required on both sides of the intake?