Coolant in Oil headache..need a little advice!

Search this Thread

Old June 18th, 2012, 08:36 PM

Coolant in Oil headache..need a little advice!

Hey guys, this is my first post on here, thought this be a good way to get some advice from veterans in the game. I'm a newbie for the most part..learning step by step each time something goes south on the car. Here's the deal though. After a good thorough year of searching and a long childhood obsession, I finally was able to buy my first gbody. 88 Cutlass with a 69 350 rocket. The guy and his dad built it from the ground up. He's had it sitting in his garage for a few years, besides starting it up every few months, he never really drove it. He was very straightforward with the good and the bad and has still kept in contact with me for any questions i've had (not bad for a Craigslist ad, right?)

Anyway, back to the issue. I had oil dripping off the breather and ordered taller valve covers which would have been the fix. I took it for a coolant flush (bad mistake) when I first got it, and I have a feeling there might have been some head gasket sealant that got flushed out. It had been driving fine after that, until the last time I took it out, I noticed I smelled antifreeze. I got home, popped the hood, and sure enough it's no longer oil dripping off the breather, its coolant. I popped the valve covers off and sure enough, my rockers are covered.

Here's where I ask advice..I plan on changing the intake manifold and head gaskets out this week and PRAY that will be the fix..but my neighbor has been telling me it can be much more severe. Any thoughts to this? I have not drove it since the day I noticed the coolant (it's been about 2 weeks ), I started it up the other day and there's no knock in the engine or anything. Could all this coolant lead to problems down the road? I ask you vets any type of advice..I'm at a stalemate on what to do at the moment...any type of advice would be awesome, thanks a lot!