Any input on engine specs/upgrades PLEASE. I'm a NEWBIE

Search this Thread

Old December 20th, 2009, 10:45 PM

Talking Any input on engine specs/upgrades PLEASE. I'm a NEWBIE

I don't know much about cars and i bought my 72 "S" couple months ago. Just did my first engine pull. The car had a bad main bearing when i bought, couldn't beat on it. Any idea of anything i should upgrade while the engine is out of the car. This is some of the engine mods.

350 rocket, engine block was bored over 0.030
internal rotating assembly was balanced (crank, rods, pistons)
crank and rods are stock just lightened up when balanced
2 bolt mains have studs and connecting rods have studs instead of bolts
piston custom made diamond 11:1 compression ratio
cylinder heads machined 0.030 to make chambers smaller chambers are 77cc, was 80cc
heads have bronze valve guides performance valves at 1.98", 1.65"
dual valve springs for hydraulic roller cam at 0.050 234, 244 duration and 0.536,0.536 valve lift, (cam mondello racing)
comp cams hydraulic roller lifters, double roller timing chain
comp cam roller rockers, one piece push rods, high volume oil pump
mallory distributor and ignition box
Edelbrock performer rpm intake
Edelbrock 750cfm 4 barrel electric choke carb
flowtech headers w/ 3 inch dual exhaust, dynomax mufflers
100amp alternator, flex-lite dual electric fans, aluminum radiator
14x3 K&N

This is what has been done, it didn't not have vacuum lines hooked up. Will i see a strong difference w/ them done right. Going to have a full tune up and timing done when i get everything complete and put back together.

What kind of power would i be looking at for this car? {ballpark HP)

Looking to change rear end from open 2.73 to a tru track or posi 3.73, will that see significant diff?