Alternator help

Search this Thread

Old April 15th, 2013, 06:09 PM

Alternator help

I'm new to classic car ownership, having just received my 72 Cutlass off the transporter three days ago. Got it on the road today and saw that the gen light was on. Popped by an Autozone and there was no reading for the alternator, so most likely that is the culprit or the volt regulator. I'll start with the alt.

I have changed them before, but after getting home, it appears this vintage system is different from what I'm used to. The oldest car I've changed one on is an 89 Pontiac and I remember that had the tensioner on it. Am I missing something, or does a 72 not have a tensioner? Do you just loosen the bolt on the front of the alternator and swing it down to begin removal of the alt.?

I'm sure to all you vets in here, this is about as basic of a repair as changing the license plate, but I would love some help.

Thanks
Dan
Buffalo, NY
Old April 15th, 2013, 06:51 PM
Beer Connoisseur

Disconnect the battery, disconnect wires from the alternator. Loosen up the bottom and top bolts swing it down to loosen the tension of the belt, remove both top and bottom bolts and your alternator is out, to install reverse the process. Bottom is your mounting and top is adjusting bolt.

Install bottom first don't tighten all the way, put tension on the belt tighten the adjusting bolt then tighten the mounting bolt.
Old April 15th, 2013, 06:54 PM

I would first trouble shoot the system. Full-field the alt and see if it charges, the regulators go bad frequently.
Old April 15th, 2013, 07:08 PM

Agreed, and either way a slightly later alternator with built in regulator is an easy upgrade, if originality is not a concern. If it is a concern, then don't turn in your alternator for a core, keep it.
Old April 15th, 2013, 07:09 PM
70 Cutlass SX

ORM - Welcome
Check out
http://wildaboutcarsonline.com/cgi-b...=9910340732039