Advice on removing points and replace with a MSD ignition

Search this Thread

Old January 17th, 2013, 04:47 PM

Advice on removing points and replace with a MSD ignition

Took the 72 cutlass to the shop and my mechanic says I should remove the points and get an MSD for a better drive. I was wondering if you guys can give me pros and cons since I have no knowledge on MSD products. My engine is a 350. Thanks
Old January 17th, 2013, 04:54 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Originally Posted by Alex72cutty
... my mechanic says I should remove the points and get an MSD for a better drive.
He's wrong, unless your engine has a pretty big cam (and / or other significant modifications).

- Eric
Old January 17th, 2013, 05:03 PM

Everything is stock as far as I know. He said the car falls flat on it face when you punch it I'm assuming. Other people have told me that MSD is a better way to go. I was thinking maybe some fine tune up on the points would do the trick?
Old January 17th, 2013, 05:23 PM

Originally Posted by MDchanic
He's wrong, unless your engine has a pretty big cam (and / or other significant modifications).

- Eric
X2.
If stock and not into high RPM racing, you will get no real benefit.
My 72 has points with 8k miles on them and I sometimes look at the tach when stopped, thinking the engine has died.
I would not introduce a more complex way to do something you will not notice.

Eidt - Lady does not hesitate when provoked, either - she just gets up and moves!
Old January 17th, 2013, 05:53 PM